Be Courageous

wwyb 3 pic

Whenever I look back and think about my life this time last year, I laugh. Seriously, I just did it while I typed that last line. I can’t help but to let out a giggle of astonishment when I think about who I was a year ago today and who I am now. Now I don’t have a dramatic story or a tragic event that changed everything forever… but I do have a defining moment where for the first time everything clicked; and it remained that way.

This time last year, I was your typical college freshman. I came to Georgia Southern with this idea of what I thought college would be like: You make lifelong friends, get a sweet job, make good grades, and get involved in something you love. Sounds easy enough right?

Throughout my fall semester I felt like I was always on the verge of something great- but I didn’t know what. I knew what I wanted to get out of my college experience, I just didn’t know how. I knew that I wanted to spend my four years here doing something worthwhile… something that mattered. I felt like an empty cup just waiting to be poured into. And that was my problem, I was waiting. I was going through the motions of my new college life just hoping that one day everything would change… That I would magically be involved, suddenly have best friends, and instantly know my passions.

I will never forget the day where I made the decision to stop waiting on all the things I wanted out of life. My peer leader in my Self-Leadership FYE class had us do an activity. We were instructed to choose a word that we wanted to work towards living by. From what I remember, her example was “focused” and she explained how she felt like she needed to become more focused on the priorities in her life. I remember hearing her explanation and thinking about how awesome she was and how I had no idea what word I needed to live by… I thought the whole activity was kinda silly at the time. As I started on the assignment, I just picked the first word that my subconscious brought to mind. Courageous. Sounds good right Natalie? So I went with it, it’s just an FYE assignment right?

Joke is on me, because at the time I had absolutely no idea how much this word would impact my future and how it would change me. By the end of the assignment, I was passionately convinced that in order to accomplish all the things my heart and mind desired, I NEEDED to be courageous. Finally it all clicked! My mind was racing as I left class that day and I was excited with the breakthrough that had just occurred. That night I wrote it in my journal (Yes, I journal), on my wall, in my agenda; anywhere I could see it. Be Courageous.

I wish I had the exact date, but that was the day that as a college student my life began to change. It was the day that I realized in life, we are all empty cups. We all have the opportunity to be poured into, to learn and grow and most importantly pour into others. But greatness doesn’t happen to those who wait on it. It happens to those who make it happen. And usually, that takes courage. It takes courage to try something new. It takes bravery to make a new friend, and it takes boldness to find a passion and DO something about it. Don’t walk around waiting for your cup to be filled- because sadly it will remain empty.

A year ago today, I felt like I was on the verge of something great. And truth is that I was- I was on the verge of finding out who I really was and what I really believe in. But that wouldn’t have happened unless I acknowledged the fact that I was living fearfully. I don’t have a dramatic or attention grabbing story to explain how my life now has become so much more fulfilling over the last year… All I have are two simple words that have created such a purposeful meaning that I strive to live by: Be Courageous.

Stay courageously sparkly my friends,

Natalie

I am courageous