Thankful for Diversity.

I am thankful for diversity. Now I know it seems strange that out of all the things there are to be thankful for in life… why is it that diversity is the one at the top of my list?

Well this time of year it’s safe to say that everyone usually mentions their thankfulness towards their family and their friends. I’m thankful for mine too. But what I’m more thankful for is the DIVERSITY amongst all of these relationships that I have. I’m thankful that each person is special and has DIFFERENT qualities about themselves that I get the privilege of having in my life every single day. I’m thankful that when I need advice I can go to my mom, because she knows me better than anyone else. I’m thankful for the fact that when I fill my head with crazy dreams I can go to my dad and know he will support me, because he’s a dreamer too. I’m thankful I can always count on my brothers to make me laugh and my sister when I need a helping hand. I’m thankful that when I’m having a bad day, I know I can find any of my SOAR teammates and they will refuel me with encouraging words, brain sparkles, and coffee. I’m thankful that I have 6 best friends from high school, that give me 6 unique outlooks on everything, and that I still talk to every day even though we go to 6 different schools (which just helps prove how different each of us are from one another).

This diversity is what keeps life exciting! I don’t want to be surrounded by people who think, act, and talk the exact same way I do. If everyone were the same then how would we learn? How would we grow? How would we be inspired?

So my advice to you is to never stop being YOU. Because whether you see it or not, there are talents you have that nobody else does. There are qualities about you that make all those around you smile. There are traits in you that the people in your life are inspired by every day. It’s the DIVERSITY amongst the people in your life that make your relationships with them so special, and it’s the diversity in you that does the same for them. What a reason to be thankful!

“Diversity in the world is a basic characteristic of human society, and is also the key condition for a lively and dynamic world as we see today.” -Jintao Hu

Passionately,
Kayla

