Thankful for Support

support

It’s so surreal that I’m almost done with the fall semester of senior year! It feels like it was just yesterday that I was moving into Centennial, excited to begin my college journey here at Georgia Southern. Now in the blink of an eye my college career is almost over, which is a bittersweet feeling.

This semester I have been engrossed in the very tedious and time consuming process of applying to graduate level programs. Here’s a word of advice: start this process early! Trying to gather reference letters, transcripts and writing application essays while simultaneously trying to balance classes and still have some time to enjoy life is exhausting! Needless to say there were many moments when I stressed, overwhelmed and began to loose hope.

Throughout this journey I have realized the important support. I am thankful for a family that supports my dreams. There is absolutely no way that I could have made it this far on my own. There were moments when I fell short of reaching my goal and wished that I had a dream that was easier to attain. My family could have easily lost faith in me and told me to choose a different career but instead they encouraged me to get back on my feet and keep pushing.

Supportive friends played a major role in this process as well. Whenever I felt like my dreams were headed on a downward spiral to crash and burn someone was always there to the rescue.There was never a shortage of kind words and encouragement in moments of despair when I needed them most. After many obstacles and unsure moments, I have truly realized the importance of having a good support system. As much as we think we are independent beings, there will always be a moment where we need some wisdom and encouragement to keep the glimmer of hope alive.

Be brave enough to admit that you can’t do everything on your own. If you don’t have a good support system I encourage you to find one. Surround yourself with positive attitudes and people that want to see you succeed. When you do find your support system, utilize it, cherish it and be thankful for support!

All the best!

Keturah Bowe

