Crisis Intervention

Last Tuesday I felt like I was going through a crisis. A culmination of endless rain, frustrations with school work, a bad hair day, a messy room, and a sleepless night honestly left me feeling grumpy, upset, and helpless. Usually bad days like this result in a dramatic phone call to my Mom about how my world is ending. Sound familiar to anyone?

Later that day in my Mental Health Nursing course we were discussing Crisis Intervention. During the lecture my professor was talking about how there are usually 3 outcomes to a crisis: return to previous level of functioning, develop higher, more adaptive functioning , or decompensate at lower level of functioning.

The second outcome really stood out to me. It was a reality check. We all go through hard times. Whether it be a true life crisis or just a bad day. What’s interesting is that in reality, the outcome is up to us.

How will you choose to view the outcome of these situations? A waste of time? The worst time of your life? Or an opportunity to grow? An experience that you can learn from?

From my “crisis” I learned that sometimes I need to just take some time to vent, clean my room, get a good night’s sleep to clear my head. Nothing is the ‘end of the world’ and it’s likely that things will get better soon!

I believe that we have the power to change our “lens” or view on situation through our attitude. So which attitude will you choose? Who Will You Be?

Optimistically,

Becca

0ea9fb2492a1e2b142c5c667cef4e197